Mitch Marcus Quintet +13 Big Band Live at the Metro Opera

April 12, 2007

Next up is an outstanding performance from the Mitch Marcus Quintet +13 playing live at the Metro Opera in Oakland on April 12, 2007.

This was a seriously fun show, I mean how can you not like listening to a live big band with that many great musicians playing such a diverse set of songs? The lineup included Mitch’s standard quintet grouped together with a substantial horn section made up of lots of local talent. These guys don’t get together in this format too often, so make sure to keep an eye on Mitch’s Calendar so you can check them out the next time around. Trust me, it’ll be worth it!

Also, thanks to Mitch’s generous permission, I’m able to share this excellent recording made from a single stereo pair of mics placed dead center right in front of the action. My mics had the best seat in the house, and now you can hear the entire show from that exact same spot! Enjoy…

Play Audio: 
Adobe Flash Player and JavaScript are required to stream our audio clips. You can also download the audio files directly using the links below.
Download: Track 1Track 2Track 3Track 4Track 5Track 6Track 7

Audio Tracks
1. Joey Rubber Special
2. Pork Chops
3. Mangoes
4. Inditranego
5. Hello Don
6. Maggie’s Mambo [Machito]
7. 3rd Movement of Big Castle Suite


Tags: Bay-Area, BayTaper, Big-Band, Brass, Erik-Jekabson, Jazz, Jazz-Orchestra, Jeff-Marrs, Live-Music, Metro-Opera, Mike-Abraham, Mike-Olmos, Mitch-Marcus, Oakland, Sylvain-Carton


Categories: Local Jazz, Photos, Recordings