Realistic Orchestra Live at 12 Galaxies

April 4, 2006

A few months back, I stumbled onto a collective of bands dubbed the Jazz Mafia through some other artists I’ve been recording lately — a few degrees of separation if you will. After attending my first show of the Realistic Orchestra playing at 12 Galaxies in early April, I was instantly hooked. I mean seriously, where else can you see an 18+ piece brass band these days? Trust me, if you haven’t seen these guys yet, you’re missing out in a BIG WAY.

For those who don’t know, the Realistic Orchestra includes some of the Bay Area’s finest musicians playing in the classic ensemble format known as the “Big Band” with more modern elements provided by DJ Aspect and MC-Battle Champion Dublin. These elements combined with electronic influenced grooves, epic arrangements, and cutting-edge jazz improvisation create a distinct and unmistakable sound not to be missed. So, take a moment to watch this eight-minute video I recorded of their epic “Mountain Man,” a track they often lovingly refer to as their theme song.

Play Audio: 
Adobe Flash Player and JavaScript are required to stream our audio clips. You can also download the audio files directly using the links below.
Download: Track 1Track 2Track 3Track 4Track 5Track 6Track 7Track 8Track 9

Audio Tracks
1. Scary
2. Solidude
3. Darling Nikki
4. Dr. J the Pirate
5. Arc Line
6. Nightfall
7. Fringe Town
8. Dume Flume
9. Mountain Man


Tags: 12-Galaxies, Adam-Theis, Bay-Area, Big-Band, Erik-Jekabson, Jazz, Jazz-Mafia, Joe-Cohen, Live-Music, Mike-Olmos, Realistic-Orchestra, San-Francisco


Categories: Local Jazz, Recordings, Video